Permission

Permissions are features associated with the various objects in the program that allow their display and modification by authorized users, both in terms of data and database structure.

The permissions of the program are linked to the associated category of the user. It’s not the user who has certain permissions, but their category. This allows you to quickly group users and assign the same permissions for all of them. By default, when the program generates a user, it associates the admin category.

An example: if we tick the admin category in the Clients table on the Displayable Permission, users who belong to it will no longer be able to view the Clients table.

You should always check and be careful how the permits are handled. A user, for example, may have permission to view the customer section but not the table – the program will automatically hide the section as the user can't view the data anyway.

The basic categories that cannot be changed are:

– admin

– default user

– guest

The name of the category does not affect its importance. You could manage the whole program with the guest category and view only customers with the admin category. The user decides how to set permissions according to the category. We recommended keeping the admin category as the main one.

Through the Options panel you can create additional categories, such as commercial agents, technicians, etc.

Permissions play a key role when used on a cloud-type database.

If, for example, we want one of our technicians to receive only his appointments on the phone and not those of others, the following procedure should be followed:

Add a cloud user by providing the email that the technician will use to access his device.

Associate a specific category, e.g. Technicians.

In the table options, on the Appointments row, set the View by user permission on the Technicians category.

This way, when the technician logs in from a device, Nios4 will download only the data associated with it.

In order to actually associate a record to the technician you will open the detail sheet and, through the list at the bottom left, you will select the technician or technicians who can act on the record.

Please note that permission to receive the data card from the server does not automatically authorize viewing and editing. These two permissions must therefore also be set so that the user can act.

Each user can be associated with multiple categories so that permissions can be assigned more quickly.

After making all the desired changes click on Save at the top right and then on Actions and Update the program to make sure that the program loads all the changes made.